The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Spring-Summer 2016

Hell-o!

I’m back with news!

After a long hiccup, involving tireless days and partial nights of work, I’m very pleased to announce the birth of my new collection for this year.

The idea was to create easy to wear clothes for women (and men, why not).

Summer is a season of struggle for me, since I grew up in the Andes, in a rather cool-and-dry-year-round weather, I find it hard to exist in this hot and humid months in New York (or hot weather elsewhere).

So I figured, the heat is enough struggle, let’s not make clothes another hassle in terms of design and wear. I want people to throw a Tee or a dress on and move on!

The shapes I’ve worked around are basic: a crew neck t-shirt, a slip dress or classic shaped shorts, oh! and the lovely jumper faux leather dresses! but the innovation was on the textiles: Fresh and airy laces and silks on roomy silhouettes , that’s it! For the wearer to feel comfortable, cool and sexy.

These garments can be dressed up, for work or a night out, or down, for your weekend activities with friends.

Now: Check it out!

Toast! toast! toast! toast!…..

Fine!

I want to thank the following women that were solidaire and helped me selflessly and without whom I wouldn’t have been able to show my work to the world:

My partner in crime Maria, who helped me sew and is still helping me with more styles to come.

Sinzi, Sinziana Dobos Photography, who spent her whole and only day off working on the photoshoot.

Anna Boman, who’s beauty is priceless and sweetness endless, she made it on those heels for hours!

Katherine Allen, what can I say about her…she’s the best, so talented, caring  and kind, my great and dear friend, who’s vast experience and intelligence won’t cease to impress me.

Thank you! beautiful and talented women in my life!


You can see the collection on my website: www.thecoatcheckcollection.com

 

5 comments on “Spring-Summer 2016

  1. fabrickated
    May 31, 2016

    Well done. The collection is sensational, especially in these interesting and edgy fabrics.

  2. Debbie
    July 12, 2016

    I still need a slip for under my nude dress which I bought and love from the flee! Please help me with a liner!!

    • the coatcheck tales
      July 13, 2016

      Hi Debbie! I got liners. Black and Pink. Are you in New York?

      • Debbie
        July 13, 2016

        I’m not but I have a friend who is… I’m modelling your wares in the uk. He’s in Williamsburg when are you next at the flea?

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

