The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Leave my Stash Alone!

Hell-o!

It gets a little confusing writing two blogs. I write about similar generalities but different singularities but both are me!

My new blog, implies new adventures (with pins and needles😉 ). So I’ve improved my sewing/pattern making area, my work space is much more functional, finally! although it is a never-ending task to keep things neat and clean.

I’ve joined a Sewalong group on FB and the women in it seem to be so nice! the topic of it is to make clothes just using the fabric we already have and not to buy anymore. Maybe most of you think, uuhh? Well people that like arts and crafts, in this case sewing, tend to hoard fabric, trims, notions, patterns and any kind of sewing related stuff and I include myself in that category.

For years I’ve accumulated yards and yards of fabric thinking that I was gonna have a project for them some day. Well, sometimes the day never comes, and you find yourself wondering if you have a hoarding problem.

One of the first things we did in the group is to take pictures of our “stash” (fabric stash). See? We even talk like addicts! I realised that mine is nothing compared to other people’s. One woman has a room full of fabric, a room as big as my living room FULL-OF-FABRIC. So I’m not that bad, and living in NYC helps a lot to curb my fabric appetite because 1) No storage space and 2) The Garment District is just here 😀

So I have some ideas for garments I want to make, this weekend it is! Will share pictures. For now, this is my stash.my stash

Well, there’s one more bin box in the back and one more in storage, oops…It’s fabric that is not my style exactly and maybe was a gift

Anyway, thanks for stopping by 😉

7 comments on “Leave my Stash Alone!

  1. theresastevens
    January 18, 2015

    I think if I lived near the garment district, my stash would grow! Even though I know it’s big enough already. 🙂 You must have good willpower!

    • the coatcheck tales
      January 19, 2015

      I think I have to keep myself busy so I don’t have time to go around there, also, go straight home from work! 😉

  2. Dina
    January 19, 2015

    It’s so interesting + inspiring to get inside the thoughts and processes of another artist – to see the parallels that I am now realizing are universal to the creative mind.
    All that stash! Holding onto something you completely forgot about because it could be absolutely invaluable later on. Taking up space but retaining some kind of promise… Inspiring, overwhelming and sometimes downright DEPRESSING…
    But there it waits patiently for our “sparked up” return. So glad that life has turned a bright corner for you and brought you back home to your stash. Here’s to turning it into loads of cash! xo!

    • the coatcheck tales
      January 19, 2015

      Thank you Dina for your insightful comment. Here’s for all makers and artists!

  3. fabrickated
    January 20, 2015

    Nice post. I am horrified quite often to find things I have forgotten about and I go out and buy something similar (clothes or cloth).

    • the coatcheck tales
      January 20, 2015

      It is true! that’s why I like transparent bin boxes for storage and an open “closet” so I can see everything I have and I’m never scared to return stuff ;D

    • the coatcheck tales
      February 21, 2015

      Hahahah, I store most of my fabrics in see-through bin boxes so recognise everything at a glance 😉

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

