The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Wardrobe Malfunction

Hell-o!

Since I’m a freelancer in the fashion industry, I have to juggle my days and money income with other jobs. For instance I work for an evil financial corporation during the day and during the night, catering at rich people’s parties. I can’t dislike my day job more, the corporate/financial/lawyer’s world makes me gag …glurp! But the parties can be fun. My coworkers are mostly artists: actors, writers, painters, musicians, sports/yoga instructors, there’s even this hypnotherapist lady!, so let’s say, assorted crafty people.

On saturday night I often work on wedding parties, catering has nothing to do with MY craft until there’s a wardrobe malfunction –fashion emergency! When that happens people frantically run around asking if anyone  knows how to sew. I was approached that way by one of the managers and taken to the bridal suite.

A few brides maids surrounded one of theirs gesticulating and mumbling, I find my way into the group, get in the middle and see a young lady holding a strapless dress against her chest covering herself. She doesn’t say a word, only her peers talk to me.

– Look what happened! her dress is ruined! Can you help us? says one of them in a worrisome tone.

Let me see, I reply.

The zipper is broken and part of it is stuck, it’s unfixable. I declare with concern. We need to proceed to either rip it off and replace it, or leave it as is and sew the dress on the girl’s body.

I hear a murmur…The girls whispered, and looking at each other say: do what you think is best…

996512_10151485921567019_380932264_nImage from paperfashion.net

I sent someone to get a spool of good-quality-matching-color-thread and needles and started. Sewing the dress on her turned out to be much more difficult than I thought. The dress was too small and tight – reason why it broke open in the first place. I needed help. I needed someone to hold the ends together as I worked.

It took me twenty minutes to finish it all. She looked stunning and immensely grateful. The girls clapped and cheered.

My job was done and had to move on. I winked at her, wished her good luck and closed the door behind me.

Thanks for stopping by 😉

One comment on “Wardrobe Malfunction

  1. Pamela Graham
    April 15, 2014

    You’re a hero!

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

