The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Ready!…Go!

Hell-o!

One of the first gigs I’ve ever had in NY was a photo shoot assisting a stylist, I worked for free, as I did many other times when just arrived  -helping a friend of a friend and so.

I steamed some clothes, organized them, helped dress the models, but mostly observed.

It turned out to be very fun. The photographer (I never knew his name) was only wearing his underwear and had his long hair in a loose bun.  He’d yell at the models during the session: oh that’s good!…keep going!…move!…jump higher! and stuff like that. It was a beach themed photo shoot and male and female models had to jump for hours in their swim suits posing in the air. Later, the girls changed to a more formal wear and the jumping stopped.

Since then, I’ve worked in many photos shoots and fashion runways as a tailor, which means that I have to fit the garment to the model that’s gonna wear it and alter it to her/his size: take-in the sides, hem, put/remove pockets, belt loops, buttons, trims, etc. Let’s say, transform a piece into a two sizes smaller one.

It’s a fun job, though usually you work under tight deadlines.

This time I was requested for a sock photo shoot. When I got to the studio I thought, hmh! will I fit and alter socks? You never know, but of course, the guy had to wear some clothes that I had to tweak.

goldtoe6 goldtoe5The stars of the shoot: Da Socks!

I also had to work with the stylists, mixing and matching shoes-with-socks-with-pants-and-more-socks. Colors, textures, concepts: fun, fun, fun!

goldtoe8Playing with endless combinations. These shoes were to be shot the next day, on a female model

The ‘hair’ and make up stylist had the worse job in my opinion. All the trimming…eek!

goldtoe3

goldtoe7 goltoe5Getting some faux tan

What took the longest though was the building of the set. The stage designers and builders made a perfect grass and dirt trail in which the model would have to appear running.

goldtoe9Testing colors

goldtoe10Dude “running”… It took foh-evah to get the shot. Apparently it’s not easy faking to run

goldtoe4Photographer and his assistant

Next shot, the guy is dresses and my job is done.

goldtoe1

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

