The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Making of the Re-making

Hell-o!

Since I arrived to New York I’ve had many different jobs. My first and permanent one was at this fashion company in which besides making patterns, samples and fittings, I’d make alterations of vintage clothes that my boss collected. Everything started then.

At the beginning I hated making alterations of any kind, because of the stereotype my family always rubbed on my face: that if you sew, regardless if you’re a designer or a seamstress, you’re doomed to work in a small dark space, hunched over, mending old socks and being paid with crumbs.

Well It turned out to be fun! and I developed great skills on fixing and altering vintage clothes. It’s not easy, but I find it fascinating to re-create a piece that’s there no more.

I wish I’d taken pictures of the alterations I’ve worked on in the past, shame on me!

Last week I wrote about my friend Laura’s Vintage Trailer. As I posted before, I appreciate the beauty in clothes from the past but unfortunately nothing fits (me) right. So when I saw this dress at the trailer I knew I had to have it, but also knew it was gonna be gutted. Loved the fabric, the buttons and the cut, so I transformed it.

1. The Original dress and its deconstruction 

1 make over

2. The New Piece: A peplum top

6 make over

Uniqlo Shorts and Dr. Martens Limited Edition ‘Grunge’ Boots

Thanks for stopping by 😉

6 comments on “The Making of the Re-making

  1. David Roland
    August 4, 2013

    Awesome work as always!
    David

  2. Mike P
    August 5, 2013

    Interesting

  3. Rich Goyer
    August 5, 2013

    Good stuff

  4. Laura Lanz-Frolio
    August 9, 2013

    I’m so impressed with how you remade this! Looks amazing!

  5. Edson
    August 30, 2013

    Can I borrow it? Good job, gostosona!

  6. the coatcheck tales
    December 27, 2014

    Reblogged this on 14/90.

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

