The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Menu for Today: Vintage

Hell-o!

After months of not having a decent two-day-weekend to enjoy myself and others, this is another one-day-off week.

But today is different, it’s cloudy, and I say to myself: take you bike and get out!!!

So I did.

With a mild rain on my back I take control of my destiny/destination.

Biking in Williamsburg on a sunday is a double edge sword. On one hand you burn some calories off (get your ass sore a little bit), and in the other you ride around street vendors of all kinds, specially the kind I like: clothes, shoes, accessories. Not good if you’re a fashion hoarder like myself.

My goal was to find a friend of mine that I learned was gonna be in the neighbourhood.

I know Laura Lanz-Frolio for maybe over a year and as many other artists, I met her working on a non-art-related-job. Her cheerful and easy personality make it a delight to be around.

She is a vintage lover and started selling her findings on Etsy http://www.etsy.com/shop/lapoubellevintage. At the beginning of this year she started a KickStarter to get some money to open up a mobil store. She made her goal, got a vintage trailer and voilà! You can find her and gorgeous vintage goods all over Brooklyn (most likely).

I’ve followed her in the process of the making exchanging some business tips and ideas along our work shifts and as a designer in the process of having a business myself, I was beyond happy to see her succeed.

You can follow her facebook page https://www.facebook.com/LaPoubelleVintage and see where she will be next.

janelle-jones-la-poubelle-vintage-launch-party-130713-014_webPicture taken from http://lapoubellevintage.blogspot.com

janelle-jones-la-poubelle-vintage-launch-party-130713-002_webPicture taken from http://lapoubellevintage.blogspot.com

IMG_3204By TheCoatCheckTales

IMG_3206By TheCoatCheckTales

IMG_3207By TheCoatCheckTales

IMG_3218By TheCoatCheckTales

IMG_3219By TheCoatCheckTales

Everything was so cute and I was so happy for Laura, that I couldn’t help it and got a couple items for myself!!!

***Congratulations Laura!!!***

Thanks for stoping by 😉

4 comments on “The Menu for Today: Vintage

  1. Susana Barrera Andaur
    July 30, 2013

    Susanita: Admiro tu corazón grande al reconocer el éxito del otro, poca personas lo hacen y eso demuestra que tus sentimiento son tan nobles, especialmente en estos tiempos del neoliberalismo descarnado, donde hay que aplastar al otro para ganar clientes en el negocio…por algo se habla de estrategias de mercado porque es como estar en una guerra que debes ganar, precisamente de las guerras que crean los gobernantes es que ha surgido ese lenguaje aplicado a la gestión del mercado. Viva el éxito de Laura !, me suscribo a las felicitaciones y enhorabuena Laura!
    Susana

  2. Laura Lanz-Frolio
    July 30, 2013

    Awesome post Susana, thanks for stopping by! It was so good to see you!

  3. via verde terra alta
    August 9, 2013

    The Menu for Today: Vintage | The CoatCheck Tales Gracias por compartir con todos nosotros toda esta amena información. Con estos granitos de arena hacemos màs grande la montaña Internet. Enhorabuena por esta web.

  4. Edson
    August 30, 2013

    Wow! Such an awesome idea! Congrats to Laura and for this great post, Srta. Susaninha.

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

