The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Blessed the Hands

Hell-o!

So, where do you think clothes come from? From the store you might answer, or better, the Thread Fairy!

It’s kind of the question: where do babies come from? From Paris and they’re brought by a stork.

Well clothes are made, just like babies, but with much more effort and dedication.

It’s common to appreciate a stunning runway and congratulate the designer, they most often take all credit. But the truth my friends is that designers design and there’s a huge number of  highly skilled and talented people called pattern makers, tailors and seamstresses that bring the designer’s ideas into reality and remain anonymous.

For my family education is very important so when my sister and I would do not so great in school my dad would threaten us with sending us to sewing school rather than a traditional college: at least you’ll be a seamstress, he’d say. So after presenting my Psychoanalysis Thesis and have worked with drug addict patients and have taught psychology at different colleges for a while, I saved my dad the bother and enlisted myself into the Tailoring Academy (not that I failed as a psychologist, only that my passion went in another direction).

I started out in tailoring school, learned pattern making and sewing techniques as a choice. After a few years, when I was skilled enough in the arts of garment making, decided to go to fashion school and I moved to another country. I thought it was very important to learn how to sew and make the patterns first because, well… anyone can design, not everybody can make it happen. Don’t get me wrong, it was an amazing experience to go to fashion school, there I learned the process of designing a collection, developed my art skills and learned the technicality of flat sketching and working close with the factories. It definitely closed the circle of creating and making.

new post

A small sample of a collection I designed and developed.                                                                                                                                                                                     Check out the first style and analyse the following graphics

1 de 14

Measurement/Dimensions Chart 

2 de 14

Materials Chart

3 de 14

Cost Chart

cowl neck

Prototipe

After my family saw my work, they changed their minds alright. They’re proud of my work now, but didn’t understand the process until seeing the results.

Now look at these behind the scenes videos of men and women crafting gorgeous couture pieces that by the way are 100% hand made. I remember a few years ago when I went to see the Valentino exhibit in NYC, he said that there were more than a hundred employees at his atelier and there was only one sewing machine.

making of a Dior dress copy

Go to the link   http://youtu.be/dczVqe5ig74

chanel fabric:dress making copy

 Go to the link http://youtu.be/qY4HjYWSC8Y

042b4b589f0d0a6360e391f18a7d3e6a

There’s more inspirational videos to watch, you can also check out my previous post in which crazy genius pattern makers and designers teach you their mind blowing techniques.

Thanks for stopping by 😉

5 comments on “Blessed the Hands

  1. Isabel Vielma
    May 12, 2013

    Susana

    Me pareció genial tu publicación ademas aproveche de recordar tu coleccion.
    Cariños
    Isabel Vielma

  2. marybel
    May 13, 2013

    Súper!!!

  3. Justin
    May 14, 2013

    Very nice!

  4. Coree
    May 23, 2013

    I will never take my clothes for granted again! Coree

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

