The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Oh…Snap!

Hell-o you all!

New York Fashion Week is far gone, and we’ve moved on to London (at least via web)

Very busy times for fashion brands. They’re all in a hurry to finish up and polish the new collections for the big day.

I’ve been a witness of this lately, freelancing for a few companies in the midst of the final touches. There’s been a lot of work, long hours that brought out non-sense conversations and in order not to lose my mind and stay awake I came up with a few silly Jokes D’atelier, that made me laugh to tears! literally.

One thing I live for is to make, always curious on how stuff works and to create new things, in this case, clothing. But during this time I’ve been on very tricky situations. Sometimes you think you’ve seen it all and, how new can it be? how hard can it be? right? So I realized that it can be really hard and new. I found myself looking at a pattern and think: what da… how da… why?!!!

Well everything went well at the end. I figured everything out and started sweating with slippery chiffons, rolling jerseys and transparent knits that wouldn’t behave! Yes, I always say that sometimes it’s mature to get out of our comfort zone in order to be better, but this time I was so-far-away!

Now take a peep of this cool pics. A few of my favorite looks from NYFW.

All these pictures are from Thom Browne‘s collection.

I LOVE IT!!! Beautifully tailored, the colors, the prints, the mood, everything perfect!!!

A tiny taste of the powerful Marc Jacobs‘ show

Always cool Christopher Kane

Acne

The beauty is that I know a little more, got inspired and refueled to move on to new fashion adventures.

Adventures like finding this designer/pattern maker genius! Shingo Sato and his mind blowing and inspirational draping techniques. His book will be Volume 4 of my pattern making bible set.

So my dear friends, will be working on my fall/winter collection fully energized and inspired.

Thanks for stopping by 😉

3 comments on “Oh…Snap!

  1. Edson
    September 18, 2012

    Wow!!! Some crazy shit you got the chance to witness, adorable, Susana.
    Loved it.
    Can’t wait to see what you’ll come up with for your own fall collection.
    Yay!!!
    xo
    Edson

  2. the "it" project
    September 19, 2012

    Awesome and insightful as always! You are the coolest!

  3. SUSANA
    October 29, 2012

    Muy bello, es una delicia visual, mam

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

