The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Out Of My Comfort Zone

Hell…o

Seriously, it’s hell out side! the heat and humidity are making my life very difficult.

But talking about comfort zones. The life of a designer is full of challenges that most of the times have us scratching out heads for hours.

This week I got tested on my pattern making skills, with successful results! That’s one of my strengths. And also got involved in a project which demands me to design customs for the 1800’s. Don’t get me wrong, I love challenges, I often examine clothes and try to find out how the pattern would be like and also how the fabric would be treated when put together. Though  designing for a certain time in which they used so much embellishments, details, yards and yards of fabric, will make me scratch my head so hard…

Anyway I guess evolving as a designer and a human being is to achieve comfort out of your comfort zone.

Now for my amusement, I found the images of these gorgeous men dressed to kill (with kindness). A couple years ago my husband and I were browsing books at Strand and we got fascinated with Gentleman of Bocongo, a book dedicated to these men exquisitely dressed for peace, and a hopeful future.

Gentlemen of Bacongo by Daniel Tamagni

“My style talks about colors. For me. the world of tomorrow will be built around the colors. Someone who uses color is a proud man. He don’t like violence. Because ‘la sape’ is for eace in the world”. These words were spoken by The Bachelor, a member of S.A.P.E., Societe des Ambianceurs et des Personnes (Society of Tastemakers and Elegant People). Society that takes place in Brazzaville, capital of the Republic of Congo.

This group goes beyond the talent of combining colors. The ‘sape’ is an art in which real gentlemen have to know the concept of gentleness and good manners related to inherent the moral code of the individual. These sapeurs have a very tight relationship with faith: they talk  about peace and violence and turning the other cheek.

The sapeurs have taken the genteel art of dressing in order to express a peaceful elegance and celebrate Brazzaville.

How I wish we had more sapeurs around us. This would be a better world.

Thanks for stopping by 🙂

2 comments on “Out Of My Comfort Zone

  1. David Roland Arellano
    May 29, 2012

    A wonderful glimpse at the desire and need for true elegance so
    lacking in the supposed “first world”. Good job beautiful, your blogs are the bees knees!

  2. Gerald
    May 30, 2012

    designing customs…

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

