The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Christmas Blah…

Hell…o there!

Christmas is right here again. How fast this year has gone by!

This holiday has always been special to me. But I find it hilarious how in South America this time of the year its summer and we have to buy artificial snow and decorate winter style while we’re sweating to death!

Since I was little (well if I were home now would do the same), every year on the 24th before dinner, would get together with my sister and while watching “Home Alone” we’d wrap presents. The ones from grandma and grandpa’s were the mysterious ones, we would look around the whole house to find them, most of the time with no success, until of course christmas eve.

I always looooved the lights and decorations you put all over the place, makes everything look so cosy, friendly, just like the ideal image of home, so every year I would complaint about why can’t we have all those pretty lights forever!

This christmas I couldn’t make it home, but the nice feeling, when I remember is still there… Sigh

Here in New York decoration is taken seriously (well, maybe because it’s actually winter and there’s real snow) and the picture looks how it was supposed to.

mmm….a little parenthesis: Has anyone noticed an out of business store maybe on 21st St. where 5th Ave. and Broadway intersect?  looks most likely they went out of business after christmas ’cause they’re closed but all the decoration remains, it’s been intact for years!…

Among all the decorations, the Bergdorf Goodman’s famous windows are my favorite: it’s magnificent, luxurious and opulent, unreal! there’s so much going on: stories, characters, lights, shine and beautiful clothes. The area is always crowded  but this year I was lucky enough not to have a lot of people around and was able to take some pictures (with my cellphone) 😀 .

The irony is that, want it or not, it’s a shallow holiday: imagine that I was watching t.v. and they’re giving advice on how to decrease stress during the holidays, and I think, humm… isn’t it about family, gatherings and sharing? I guess it’s mostly about parents overwhelmed with all the stuff kids want and getting stuffed with food. I guess though, there’s still people that goes to church just to feel less guilty about the over eating and also to pray for more money to pay for the stuff they bought… Sight…

Hope you have a wonderful Christmas and all your wishes come true.

Peace

10 comments on “Christmas Blah…

  1. Geraldine O'Brien
    December 23, 2011

    the moral: you haven’t bought it:, ’til you0ve finished paying for it.

  2. Edson
    December 23, 2011

    Merry Christmas!!! The REAL one just for you Susaninha!!!

  3. Susana
    December 24, 2011

    All my love for you, Susan, mother

  4. Katmandu
    December 29, 2011

    I know it wasn’t Home Alone and present wrapping, but I think we had a pretty kickass xmas Eve, no? For the rest, I had to avert my eyes as I STILL haven’t been to Bergdorf’s yet this year…..

  5. My Homepage
    December 30, 2011

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Thanks! 606456

    • the "it" project
      January 9, 2012

      Hello mineo@msn.com. There are few things I can do, though if none of them work you’re gonna have to unsubscribe and subscribe again. Let me try helping you first and let me know if it works.
      Best regards
      Susana

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

