The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Rocking my Dolls up!

Hell-000!

Ok so, finally a few days off to put personal stuff together. Although being busy is great I really can use a few ME days.

The jobs, yes many and very different every time, have allowed me to meet a lot of “famous” people, go to unthinkable places and enjoy the city in many ways I’ve never thought I would. Few days ago I had so much fun meeting the very talented Jennifer Hudson and luckily I was able to see (and hear) her sing, although I’m not a fan neither do I know a lot about her but the obvious, I can certainly say that she blew everybody’s socks off with that powerful voice. That lady can sing!!!

Also I got a little shocked when I saw Martha Stewart appeared! We all know she tends to be a biatch and I was wondering how it all would turn out to be. I honestly have to say that Me Liky all that has to be with her: crafts, DIY, interior design, cute objects and so BUT I always thought she was a little fake, but whatever, she was cool enough.

Talking about her though, I must admit that I have a split personality. The kick-ass-rocker personality I developed since I was an adolescent, with the hard core punk and metal music as life and aesthetics inspiration, projected on my designs for a long time. And the cutie cute, delicate and girly taste that I adopted not that long ago. So now I kind of listen to Iron Maiden while making pastel colored felt beads.

I like this combination though, I got to merge Susana the girl and Susana the woman that had been strangers to each other for so long. Of course when you’re growing up you don’t want to know anything related with being a little vulnerable girl. But now that everything is in its right place I greatly enjoy both.

That insight brings me to the topic of this post. I wanted to share my obsession with miniature dress items: all kinds of clothes, shoes and accessories.

I started of course with my dolls, I had a few favorites when I was a kid.

I must have been 3 years old and used to play and go everywhere with an -as tall as me- one armed doll, the most lucid memory is of a huge, heavy, naked, wearing only one shoe doll. After that one I had another one armed doll: a fabric, black one, her name was La Negra. I should ask my grandma how I got them, or they just appeared, like in the Agatha Christie’s tale “The Dressmaker’s  Doll” hahahahahaha.

After those ones Santa brought me the rest. And after those I believe my obsession started. I would be unable to go to bed knowing that they could be cold or hot (depending on the weather) and I hadn’t had them dressed accordingly. So I’d have all kinds of clothes for them, even sheets and blankets. Oh yes!

As I grew up and since my sister was the one with Barbies (I never owned one) I started making clothes for them and of course fashion shows! My sister still has the little garments that I must say, are pretty well made for an eight/ten year old little one.

Wool garments knitted with pins instead of knitting sticks by a bolivian lady. The doll is 6.5 centimeters (2 1/2 inches aprox.)

The first set of shoes are handmade with leather (Barbie doll size); finally the boots (6 x 5.5 cm.; 2 1/4 x 2 1.4 inches) and red/white shoes (7 cm.; 2 3/4 inches)  are hand made with leather as well

When I first went to tailoring school all the samples we’d made were scaled, I call them gnome clothes. Perfectly proportional dresses, pants, shirts, coats. I dream one day I can do something with those rather than having them in storage.

I greatly enjoy and admire the Theatre de la Mode and The Viktor and Rolf’s perfectly scaled dressed dolls (hearts, hearts, hearts…).

A picture of Eliane Bonabel, the first who originally imagined and sketched the doll’s prototipes

These two pictures were taken at Bergdorf Goodman’s windows

Viktor and Rolf “House of Dolls”

Of course there’s so much more designed stuff regarding this topic but these ones are my favorites. Hope you enjoy this guilty pleasure as much as I do. 🙂

10 comments on “Rocking my Dolls up!

  1. Edson
    November 22, 2011

    Wow! Great topic. I loved reading this, Susaninha.
    It is so funny that you can walk the line of “rock/punk and delicate lullabies.
    Great writing.
    xo.

    • the "it" project
      November 22, 2011

      Gracias Edsinho! I enjoyed writing it! I’m so happy you liked it!
      Beijos

  2. David Roland Arellano
    November 22, 2011

    That’s my “little” woman..bringing more tiny shoes for your collection!
    xoxo,
    D

  3. Katmandu
    November 22, 2011

    Susana,
    Love reading your blog as always! And I do enjoy the many contrasting facets to your interests! I jumped when I read about the Theatre de la Mode. It is the most inspiring exhibit I saw while I was in Oregon! We must chat about it next time we meet up. Keep rocking–like a lady!

    • the "it" project
      November 22, 2011

      Theatre de la Mode is one of the most inspiring things that happened on fashion! I’m Glad you like it!

  4. Doria
    November 27, 2011

    Me alegro mucho por tí Susanita, que estés en un mundo de tanta creatividad, aunque a mi personalmente nunca me gustaron las muñecas, prefiero otros tipos de cosas.
    Pero sigue adelante con tus diseños y todo tu mundo artístico.
    Muchos Cariños desde acá de Chile.
    Doria.

    • the "it" project
      November 27, 2011

      Doria! Muchas gracias por el comentario. Espero estes muy bien y te mando muchos carinhos tambien!!!
      Susana

  5. Susana
    December 3, 2011

    Me encantan tus modelos en prototipos de muñecas, de ese modo una pequeña idea es una luz en tu imaginario, que guía tu proyectos mayores, sigue con tu mirada creativa del mundo de la moda, felicidades, desde Santiago de Chile tu mamá Susana

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

