The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Who Wants to Party?!

Hell-o again!

Well it’s been a very busy (as always) weeks.

I’ve met Mr. Bill Cunningham, a legendary fashion photographer and a very kind human being. I saw him taking pictures at this charity event I was working at and had to talk to him! he was so friendly and the sweetest man ever. What an honor!

Well in between many things i’ve been doing, I’ve got to meet this lovely and remarkable talented film maker/director Katherine Allen who is working on her last film The Quickening (http://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Quickening/159590740802173, you can visit this link and LIKE it!) in which I have been lucky to be making the customs for. It’s been such a fulfilling experience in the professional way because I’ve had the challenge to be able to translate the director’s ideas into a tangible object, in this case the garments, which is no piece of cake; and in the personal way, because spending time with her made me realize that she’s a sweet, strong and intelligent woman I enjoy having around. Good luck with the movie Katherine!!!

These are some pics of the Test Shoot

So well, I met Katherine through another very lovely and talented friend of mine, Veronika. Who is an artist that makes masks and puppets: really cool stuff… and since it’s Halloween and she got engaged to Aaron, her loving and very creative toy designer (www.toedesign.comwww.swearbear.com) fiancee, they through a party last night. So much fun! With a tree house in the middle, a wall full of party props that we all could wear, the wall of bears and the heavy metal room. What else could I have ever wished for a saturday, fun and peculiar night??!!!

Pictures from the party: Katherine, Veronika, Aaron, The Band and Moi

Since I hate (or less harsh: dislike) most of the social celebrations in which “you have to have fun” at, starting with birthdays (more specifically my own), new years eve, carnivals (like the 3-4 day celebration we have in Bolivia, Brazil and other countries).

Well the thing is that I tend not to have fun when everybody is supposed to. My b-day is usually the worst day of the year. I get really melancholic for Christmas and New Years and I used to feel really paranoiac and scared on Halloween! And don’t let me start with the Carnival, while everybody is hardcore partying I feel lame and wanna sleep or watch TV, by myself.

The thing is when I was little, I would expect anxiously for all those days to come but as you grow up, things happen that make you go hmmm…

It must have been my 20th or 21st b-day, 8:00 ish, I was coming back home thinking: hmmm nobody mentioned any plan for tonight…that’s weird…implying: they should have planned stuff to amuse me on my day!!!. Then I though: well I guess would be nice to play by ear or simply stay home. When I open the apartment’s door. Silence. Open the kitchen’s door and almost have a heart attack when I see most of the people I used to hung out with screaming Surprise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

That was really a surprise for me but not a good one. In a mili second I imagined what my house would be later. And sure enough, mayhem! Everybody had so much fun but me. Why? Who do you think had to clean up all the mess next day? Surprise! Yes i’m that kind of person now. Because houses don’t clean themselves!

Going far back now. I remember being maybe 5 years old. There was a presentation at my school and we were asked to dress as dalmatians. I get home and tell my mom. Awesome as she is, went to but the fabric and supplies to make my suit. Next day: I’m the only brown dalmatian with white dots!

I have plenty more funny stories about christmas, new years and other “have to have fun” days. But for today I want to say that I’ve had my first, nice, fun and non scary Halloween 🙂

11 comments on “Who Wants to Party?!

  1. Edson
    October 31, 2011

    Hahaha
    C’mon!!! Don’t be such an old grumpy lady!!! A week before your b-day just let people know that you want a house cleaner for a month or a day as a presente. They’ll get the clue…hopefully.
    I can’t wait to see the pieces you are doing for this movie.
    YEAH!!!

    • the "it" project
      October 31, 2011

      Edsinho!
      Not grumpy but a little annal with organization hahahaha. And about my b-day, seriously! they never get the clue!!!! 😦
      Will show you pics later. We have to get together!!!!!
      xo

  2. Katmandu
    October 31, 2011

    Awwww….Susana you are so sweet!!! I am SOOOO happy you had a great Halloween!!! Thank you for the kind words, too! You are a master designer….the world will behold your talent soon enough! I do hope this is not my “last” film, though! haha. Do you have a picture of the brown dalmation? I need to see it….cutest story EVER!! ♥

    • the "it" project
      October 31, 2011

      Katherine! you were one of the reasons for me to have a lovely night, thank you!!! ❤ I have a couple pics of me: the black sheep hahahaha don't know where though!!!!! It is a funny story we always laugh about with my mom, I'm glad it happened, it's certainly a cute story…
      xoxo

      • the "it" project
        October 31, 2011

        By the way…this pic of you is so beautiful!!!! you’re a doll!!!

  3. Sumaya Nara
    October 31, 2011

    Susaaaaaaaaaa… estas festejando el día de brujas, jajajaj!!! megusta mucho el nuevo color de tu cabello, saludooooooooos!!!
    Sumaya

    • the "it" project
      October 31, 2011

      Sumi, creo es la primera ves que me disfrazo para este dia, fue divertido!
      Que tal tu? como estas?

  4. Vico
    November 1, 2011

    Susanaaa! Qué bueno leer tus posts! Un saludo grande desde tus tierras!

  5. Matias Dubena, LC
    November 1, 2011

    Helo Susana! I think you are doing a great job with teh customs for ht emuvie. Some times we don’t have to have fun but maybe we can enjoy when we help othrs to have fun. I’m glad that you enjoy you halloween. I like the it project. Br Matias Dubena.

    • the "it" project
      November 1, 2011

      Thank you Matias, i really appreciate it that you liked my it project. Let’s stay in touch!!!

Leave a Reply

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

