The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Hey Kafka, Make it Work!

Hell-o everybodies!

I know, I know, I’m a bad mother, I’ve abandoned my blorgh for more than I expected due to a lot of lame ass work. I have bills to pay and cats to feed like any other mortal.

I’ve been very frustrated because I have a half dress finished with only the sleeves missing, I wanted to upload a picture of it but will have to wait till the next post.

Many things have happened lately that gave me ideas to write about:

My first source of inspiration is a book I’m currently reading: Tim Gunn’s “Gunn’s Golden Rules: Life’s Little Lessons for Making It Work”. I saw it at the book store, started reading and couldn’t stop! Had to get it. So I got it.

This gentleman is lovely! And even though the book is not quantum physics or the deepest philosophical insights, it’s so entertaining to read not only about Gunn’s experiences in the world of fashion: the divas, designers and other specimens, but also his personal anecdotes are an example of how being nice and polite to one another WORKS. I strongly recommend it.

MY RATING: Two thumbs up!

 

The second source of inspiration: A friend of mine just got married and made me think how ironic, corporate and bureaucratic  it is getting married in New York’s City Hall.

Follow these easy steps and you’ll be happily married:

1. Get a flower bouquet at the booth on the street before getting in.

2. Grab a number.

3. Wait, we will call you.

4. Pay the fee ($35?).

5. Go ahead to the ‘chapel’,

 6. Say I DO.

7. Kiss the bride and…

… NEXT IN LINE!”

I got married that way in Brooklyn’s City Hall, both my hubby and I were wearing jeans and a jacket, the only special thing I wore was the necklace my dear teacher Ivonne gave me for that occasion.  We took it really easy.

This time though, I could observe my surroundings: people’s attitudes, outfits, families, the guests. That was very surreal.

– Kafkian wedding!

Since I started in fashion, I’ve developed an obsession with wedding dresses, it’s my guilty pleasure to think about most of the white(ish) outfits as weddings gowns. I must say, I hate the traditional ones with the corset and the long wide skirt. I’ve worked on big fancy weddings and saw enough brides, that for my taste, they all look the same. They DON’T MAKE IT WORK!

So miss ladies: think outside the box and whenever you’re looking for a dress for “the special occasion”, please don’t look at wedding magazines or bridal stores, look beyond! If you’re gonna spend a lot of money on a gown, make it memorable. And for the record, if you’re creative, you don’t have to spend a lot.

MY RATING: Two middle fingers up

These are some gowns I find inspiring.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 comments on “Hey Kafka, Make it Work!

  1. David Roland Arellano
    October 3, 2011

    It was your “hubbie’s” proudest and happiest moment, and he was wearing a very stylish jacket and a silly skull cravat, and an even sillier grin the whole time.. and could not have imagined a moment like that ever happening with anyone else.
    A lucky man indeed! He does however have a name other than “hubby”: David Hubbious Roland Arellano the Last

  2. Edson
    October 3, 2011

    Yeah, those wedding dresses are so cool. I always hated the traditional boring white “cake” inspired dresses.
    Why do we have to get married, anyway? It just makes things more bureaucratic and harder.
    Let’s just love, be loved, make babies (or keep trying forever) and create beautiful things.
    xo

    • the "it" project
      October 4, 2011

      Edson, you know why people get married, you’re a happily married man…
      Let’s eat cake friday!!!

  3. Katmandu
    October 14, 2011

    Lovely collage of inspiration! It’s all about personality! (Of the couple.) So many weddings are missing that element. I think first of Lydia Dietz when I think of wedding dresses, so I enjoy the more unique designs here….. Although, the Kafkaesque experience of a City Hall wedding sounds equally romantic to me….is that weird? hmmmm….Keep these ideas coming Susana! xo!

    • the "it" project
      October 15, 2011

      Katherine!
      Thanks for stoping by! I agree with you about that weddings depend on the couple, after all, they both are getting married hahaha, And the Kafkaesque could be really romantic indeed, depending also on the couple.
      xoxo
      Susana

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 1, 2011 by in fashion, the it project, tim gunn, wedding.

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

