The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

Hello world!

This blog/project is born because I just finished a task I abandoned for 4 years…that is, since I moved to New York.  My fashion designer BA thesis in Santiago, Chile -city in which I lived 5 years after moving there from La Paz, Bolivia.

So, I just got back from Chile, where I studied fashion design! “for real”

Wikipedia’s opinion on Santiago: ‘a steady growing economy, one of Latin America’s most modern metropolitan areas, and one of the Alpha World Cities.’ Honestly? A huge, dry, cold, grey, polluted city.

But my presentation was surprisingly, extremely greatly liked, fantastic reviews, eruditely commented. Two thumbs and one little thumb – up! Five stars from the toughest critics… Best show ever! and so on….(little sarcasm there)

And yes, I said fashion design “for real”, because there was a time when I learned a more ‘Sur-Real’ kind of Fashion.

I should go back to when I was 17, (I lived in La Paz, a city that does have its magic) I put aside my true passion (fashion/design) and  rather spent 5 years in Psychology School, finally graduating as a Lacanian psychoanalyst. Which is all good and well, but after a couple 8 years of my own psychoanalysis experience (with a great, straight to the word, shooter analyst), laying on a divan talking until words no more, I decided to check out this tiny tailoring academy (don’t forget, we’re in La Paz, Bolivia) in which “IT” started.

Although their avant gaard was a futuristic andean take of a thriving 80’s nightmare, they accompanied my developing hunger for conception, the urge to experiment, the must to create! …It is alive!  -I’m alive!

Immediately after the jury said my psychoanalysis B.A. thesis was genius, I took my diploma, two duffel bags with all ‘mys’ inside and went from Bolivia to Chile, to make it “for real” (also meaning that I’d get a diploma)

Another 9 Years later, here I am, in love… of New York, to me the most magical cities to ever be invented, the place where anything that can happen, will; …paradise city: where the grass is green and the girls are pretty… or there’s mostly cement except for central park and sometimes the girls are guys but that’s beautiful.

I speak of beginnings and endings because of my pragmatic and obsessive personality.  I just need to constantly work on something called a project. Much is still to be said.

These are some dresses from my thesis collection

7 comments on “Hello world!

  1. Edson
    June 1, 2011

    I love it so far.
    You’re such a talent,Suzana.
    Nice work.

  2. elmachi
    June 1, 2011

    Bueno, tendre el honor de ser tu primer “comentador”.

    This blog sounds like another exciting “little project”, I was always curious about your fashion design side, from which I have seen very little over the years, and immensely jealous of the NYC living part. So, show me, I’m waiting for the next post.

    cheers

    machi

    xx

  3. tiru
    June 2, 2011

    Hmm… a whole new Susana is born I would say. At least for the ones that meet you in La Paz.

    I like it, like the change, like the project, like the new attitude.

    Keep me posted

    Besos

    Tiru

  4. Pablo Koechlin
    June 2, 2011

    Oh my GOD!!! Suzzanna it is so exciting to read your blog! I am an old friend of yours from La Pazz. I used to be the twentieth bassist in your band. Do you remember me?

    Seriously, though, best of luck. I’ll be checking your project out.

    Two thumbs up!!!!!!

  5. Marimar
    June 2, 2011

    Siempre fuiste bella,brillante y talentosa,que sigan los exitos,besos desde Peru..

  6. Justin
    June 11, 2011

    It’s interesting to read about your transition from psychology to fashion, Suzana. Good luck! 🙂
    -Justin

  7. the "it" project
    September 26, 2012

    Reblogged this on The IT Project and commented:

    It’s Fall already! yey!!!
    I’m so happy when the temperature is cooler! You can wear accessories, layers and make up won’t run off your face!!!
    I was looking at these pictures with a little bit of nostalgia. Good times…winter times.
    Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 31, 2011 by in fashion, the it project.

Navigation

My comunity

fadanista

For indulging my fads

Fashion Research

Fashion, Culture, and Theory

The Perfect Nose

Sewing, illustration and design.

txellmiras

Barcelona based fashion designer and illustrator

make & wear - sewing-knitting-making

An Irish sewing, knitting and making Blog

Pattern Pandemonium

sewing patterns, mainly designing my own

Sewing Patterns

exploring the world of fashion and pattern cutting

Custom Style

Sewing that's Retro, Geek, and Chic

fit for a queen

Tales from the Sewing Studio

Otherwise known as...

life: it's always better when I'm creating

Sew Smitten

A topnotch WordPress.com site

3 Hours Past the Edge of the World

Design Inspiration, Sustainability, Sewing, Style & Cake

The CoatCheck Tales

stories about stuff, but mostly fashion

The Overflowing Stash

...320 and counting

Steely Seamstress

Sewing for life

